Resignation to the Divine Will – Part 2 of 3

The Lord appeared one day to St. Gertrude and said to her: “Daughter, behold, I bring you in one hand health, and in the other sickness. Choose which you please!” The Saint, throwing herself at His feet, with her hands crossed upon her bosom, answered: “O Lord, I pray Thee not to consider my will at all, but solely Thine own, and to do with me whatever will result in Thy greatest glory and satisfaction; for I have no desire except to have whatever Thou wishest me to have.” The Lord was much pleased with this reply, and added: “Let those who desire that I should often visit them, give Me the key of their will, and never take it back.” Instructed by these words, the Saint composed for herself this aspiration, which she frequently repeated ever after: “Non mea, sed Tua voluntas fiat, Jesu amantissime!” — Not my will, but Thine be done, O most loving Jesus!

A farmer who always had larger and better crops than his neighbors, was once asked the reason by one of them. “Why, I always have the weather to suit me,” he answered, “for I always wish it to be as God wishes it, and not otherwise.”

Text from A Year With the Saints (New York: P.J. Kenedy & Sons, 1891).

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Inspiration, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Saint, Saints, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.