My Lord and My God

Gerson relates that a servant of God used to say: “For forty years I have practised mental prayer with all possible diligence, and I have found no better nor easier method of making it well, than that of presenting myself before God as a child or a beggar, poor, blind, naked, and abandoned.”

St. Bonaventure tells of St. Francis that he used to pass whole days and nights in this brief prayer: “My Lord and my God, who art Thou, and who am I?” and on such occasions he was often seen to be lifted from the ground, and surrounded by a bright halo.

We read of St. Jane Frances de Chantal that she found her delight and repose in the consideration of the vast perfections of God, and in the desire that this Supreme Good might be known and loved by all His creatures.

It is related, too, of the blessed Egidius, a companion of St. Francis, that by meditating often upon the perfections, works, and mercies of God, he became filled with such great love towards Him, that he could not speak of Him, nor hear Him spoken of, nor even think of Him, without immediately falling into an ecstasy.

Text from A Year With the Saints (New York: P.J. Kenedy & Sons, 1891).

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Inspiration, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Saint, Saints, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.