Divine Favors

The Lord once appeared to St. Gertrude, and said to her: “When any one has complete confidence in Me, and believes that I have the power, the wisdom, and the desire to aid him on all occasions, this ravishes My heart, . . . I cannot help favoring such a soul, on account of the pleasure I experience in seeing it so dependent upon Me, and to satisfy the great love I bear to it.”

Taulerus relates that a servant of God, being often asked, by various persons to pray for different objects, promised to do so, but sometimes forgot, and in such cases these people always obtained what they desired, and came back to thank her. Astonished at this, she said, one day, to the Lord: “How is it, O Lord, that Thou grantest these favors which I never asked?” And the Lord replied: “See, My daughter, on the day you gave Me your will, I gave you Mine, so that sometimes if you do not ask for a particular thing that I know you would be pleased with, I do it as if you had asked Me.”

Text from A Year With the Saints (New York: P.J. Kenedy & Sons, 1891).

This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholicism, Christianity, Faith, Inspiration, Meditation, Prayer, Religion, Saint, Saints, Wisdom. Bookmark the permalink.